Author Topic: Inconstant idle when warm  (Read 1476 times)

Offline honda256

• ia
Inconstant idle when warm
« on: September 09, 2015, 07:08:05 AM »
hello,
i am new to the tx500 forum.
 hoping someone can help me out a little bit with my bike. i am fairly knowledgeable on this stuff but am stuck on this one for the moment.
on my bike the idle is inconstant when warm, will hang at times and other times will idle low and die. valves have been set, timing set and advance checked.
i tried to find  the guidefor trouble shooting by i think it was guy, and on this address also  http://www.xs500forum.com/index.php?topic=338.msg1344#msg1344  ,but have no luck accessing either.
any help would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
dave

Offline kckranz

• Angier, NC
Re: Inconstant idle when warm
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 12:19:21 AM »
Have you synced the carbs?  I had a problem similar as yours and I was constantly fiddling with the idle adjustment screw.  Once I had the carbs synced, the problem went away and I haven't touched the idle adjustment screw since.

Offline Garn

• Sydney, Australia
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2016, 05:00:07 AM »
As above re- sync carbs.
Also check throttle cable handle-bars.
RegardZ
Kawasaki Z1, Z1A, Z1B, Z900-A4 and TX500A
    Sydney, Australia

Offline dankeller

• 1978 xs500
    • toronto, on, canada
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2017, 03:43:24 AM »