Author Topic: spark plug wire  (Read 268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline The gizmo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • Pennsylvania
spark plug wire
« on: March 27, 2019, 08:13:16 PM »
had my bike at a shop for electrical work as I did not want to fiddle with it. when I picked it up they had, at some point during its stay there, ripped the spark plug wire out of the top of the coil boot. I have purchased a replacement wire. my question is...inside the top of the coil boot there is what appears to be a screw with the point and threads facing up and the end of the ripped wire that came out of there seems to have a frayed wire on the inside of the insulation, does the new wise just screw to the top of the coil like that?? or push onto it?? I cannot find out how to videos on replacing the wire. any help is appreciated.

Offline guylr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Karma: 19
    • ATL in the USA
Re: spark plug wire
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2019, 09:26:37 PM »
The stoak coil just has a spike inside the you push the plug wire onto and then tighten the cap nut down to retain it.

Guy
Now Retired Yamaha guy. Cut me and I bleed "Cinquasia Red"

Offline The gizmo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • Pennsylvania
Re: spark plug wire
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2019, 07:59:21 PM »
The end to the actual coil yes I see you just push that in and tighten.  The end of the wire that goes to the boot over the plug though. Is that just pushed on as well? Or does it screw in ?

Offline guylr

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Karma: 19
    • ATL in the USA
Re: spark plug wire
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2019, 03:36:04 AM »
Push and screw it at the same time until it feels tight.

Guy
Now Retired Yamaha guy. Cut me and I bleed "Cinquasia Red"

Offline The gizmo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
    • Pennsylvania
Re: spark plug wire
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2019, 04:05:06 AM »
Thank you. I thought that may have been the case but I didn't want to try it and be wrong.