Author Topic: Oil with altenator !?  (Read 205 times)

Offline Ted Bundy

• Karrebęksminde Denmark
Oil with altenator !?
« on: December 30, 2019, 02:55:54 PM »
Hi everybody. I'm brand new to this great forum and pretty new to my XS500 -76. I've had 2-strokes all my life.RD350-400, kawasaki triple and suzuki GT380. This yamaha is my first 4 stroke.

I started with the usual carb cleaning, oil change etc, when I discovered a charging problem. No power comes to the battery :(
Could be the rectifier, but as far as I can tell with my meter, its OK. I unscrewed til LH round panel that covers the stator/altenator and oil came out of the buttom screwhole (has 2 screws). I have never seen oil around the alternator before?

Is that normal?  :o
I mean it's still an electric component. I haven't dismantled it yet, but I will soon.

The dipstick for the oil goes directly into the sealed compartment where the alternator is located and the balancer chain must be lubricated from something, so I guess it's normal with oil in there?

Just need some peace of mind... (oil is good.....but in the right places)

I read that the lubrication system on these models are quite advanced.

Does anyone know, I would appreciate it very much.

Happy new year to all of you from Denmark  :)

« Last Edit: December 30, 2019, 02:59:37 PM by Ted Bundy »
Yamaha XS500 1976

Offline lumpy252

• Market Drayton Shropshire UK
Re: Oil with altenator !?
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2019, 03:57:53 PM »